Home > music, new media, social media, thought leader, web/tech > Facebook vs. Twitter

Facebook vs. Twitter

Here is my response to Fred Wilson’s post “Open APIs and Open Standards” relating to Dave Winer’s post about how open standards are created.

You are all much smarter than I am, and I understand the excitement surrounding the drama of todays new technologies. However, we have all seen the exponential growth of communication and media (new, old, social, etc) over the last 15 years. My question to you is this, have we seen this all before, or have we finally obtained that magical destination that we have been reaching for?

I desire that we all accept that this is only what is happening at this moment. I suggest, there are two more kids in a dormroom, or in a hilltop village in (use your imagination) who will completely knock us off our collective feet again, and again, and again. I find this incredibly exciting, globally democratic, but also a bit sobering.

My point is, I can read a P&L, I can read music, I can read a little Hebrew, maybe even a palm or two, but I do not desire to read code. Just make it simple for me. Don’t ask me to invite anymore friends to anything, I need a “friend clearinghouse.” Don’t ask me to fight someone for a URL or Twitter handle, make it universal. Fair enough?

twitter: @rich2001

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. December 20, 2009 at 12:15 am

    I thought this is a real nice post and i also bookmarked your site to look for more updates. thanks.

  2. December 20, 2009 at 1:06 am

    Thank you. I hope you enjoy the next one.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

